Sold by music on Tradebit
The world's largest download marketplace
3,235,219 satisfied buyers
Shopper Award

MP3 Nick Mazzarella Trio - Aviary

The impressive debut album from a new voice within the latest generation of Chicago improvisers, featuring original compositions by leader Nick Mazzarella and a one of a kind, tight-knit rhythm section comprised of veterans Anton Hatwich and Frank Rosaly.

6 MP3 Songs in this album (30:08) !
Related styles: Jazz: Free Jazz, Jazz: Avant-Garde Jazz, Type: Improvisational

People who are interested in Henry Threadgill Ornette Coleman should consider this download.

"Mazzarella''s impressive debut album, Aviary (Thought to Sound), was cut by his nimble, briskly swinging working trio with bassist Anton Hatwich and drummer Frank Rosaly. I like that Aviary is a modest recording, concise and direct. The performances are shorter than this spunky group''s usual live renditions of the same material, so that the album runs a satisfying 30 minutes—and throughout you can hear Mazzarella''s burning drive to convey the essence of his music simply, with no bells or whistles." - Peter Margasak (Chicago Reader)

Alto saxophonist and composer Nick Mazzarella (b. 1984), is a native of the Chicago area, and moved to the city itself in 2002 to attend DePaul University. After completing his formal music education there (Bachelor of Music 2006, Master of Music 2009), Nick became an active member of Chicago’s vibrant and diverse free jazz and improvised music scene, participating in a variety of projects as both a leader and a collaborator. At ten or more years younger than most of the musicians whose work has characterized this scene over the past few decades, Nick emerged by 2010 as a distinct voice within the latest generation of Chicago improvisers, the “new blood” of that unique and colorful lineage.

Musicians with whom Nick has performed and/or recorded include: Anton Hatwich, Dan Delorenzo, Dave Rempis, Dylan Ryan, Frank Rosaly, Fredrik Ljungkvist, Guillermo Gregorio, Jaimie Branch, James Falzone, Jason Adasiexicz, Jason Roebke, Jason Stein, Jeb Bishop, Jim Baker, Joe Adamik, Josh Abrams, Josh Berman, Keefe Jackson, Marc Riordan, Mars Williams, Mike Reed, Mikel Avery, Nate Lepine, Nicholas Gajewski, Nick Broste, Nicole Mitchell, Tim Daisy, and Tomeka Reid.

In addition to playing and recording music, Nick helps organize and curate the Ratchet Series in residence at the Skylark in Chicago, a weekly performance series featuring creative music.

File Data

This file is sold by music, an independent seller on Tradebit.

Our Reviews
© Tradebit 2004-2023
All files are property of their respective owners
Questions about this file? Contact music
DMCA/Copyright or marketplace issues? Contact Tradebit