Sold by music on Tradebit
The world's largest download marketplace
2,927,949 satisfied buyers
Shopper Award

MP3 Suzi More - Suzi More Sings Max Kowalski, 1882-1956, Opus 16

The 16th of 17 published lieder of the Holocaust composer, Max Kowalski. Published by Leukart in 1931, it was one of the last of his works to ever be printed. Because of his Jewish background his works were soon to be censored in Nazi Germany.

5 MP3 Songs in this album (7:16) !
Related styles: Classical: Romantic Era, Classical: Art songs, Solo Female Artist

People who are interested in Eleanor Steber Elly Ameling Rita Streich should consider this download.

Max Kowalski(1882-1956) was born in Kowal, Poland. His family moved the next year to Frankfort, Germany, where he grew up, studied and earned Doctorates in both Music and Law (his specialty was Copyrights). His teacher of compostition was Bernhard Sekles and voice, Alexander Heineman. In Germany from 1913 till 1931, Max Kowalski was a prolific composer of beautiful lieder in the Romantic style. Although he was Jewish, Max Kowalski wrote music of all styles and genres, from Japanese, Chinese, Danish, Arabic, French and that of many great German authors,he even wrote a Marienlieder in his Opus 12. He was friend to many other composers, artists and performers and every song cycle he wrote was quickly published until Adolf Hitler and the Third Reich took over the country. In the late 30''s Kowalski was very involved with the "Kulterbund" in Frankfort, Germany and his music continued to have popularity in their orchestral concerts. He is mentioned and highlighted by his presence at the last Kulturbund concert(1938) in Martin Goldsmith''s book entitled "The Inextinguishable Symphony". By the end of 1938, Kowalski was arrested and spent time in Buchenwald but within a month he was released and he fled to England where he spent the rest of his life teaching voice, singing in a Synagogue and making a humble living. Although no music of his was ever published again, he kept writing new works, 17 new song cycles in manuscripts which singers performed in concerts and on radio. Opus 1 is his first composition dated 1913 and first published by Leukart in Germany. It had been out-of-print many years until Dr. Walter Foster of Recital Publications in Huntsville, Texas took up the committment to bring as many of Max Kowalski''s song cycles to the public as possible. So far, 11 of his 17 previously published cycles have been reprinted.

A New Jersey native, Miss More has performed extensively throughout the United States and abroad. She has been soloist and has appeared in numerous operatic roles performing with the Festival Chorus of New Jersey, the Masterwork Chorus and Orchestra, Orpheus Chamber Singers, the Plainfield Symphony, Ars Musica Antiqua, the Garden State Chorale, the State Repertory Opera, Jersey Lyric Opera, Choral Baccarelli (Sao Paulo, Brazil), the Academy of Vocal Arts Opera Theatre (Philadelphia, PA), Montclair Chamber Orchestra, and numerous others. In 1989, she was the award-winning collaborator along with composer Loretta Jankowski, of a song cycle entitled Phoenix, published internationally by Boosey & Hawkes, in December 1993. The work, featuring Ms. More, was presented at both the Los Angeles, California (1989), and Little Rock, Arkansas, national Association of Teacher''s of singing (NATS) conventions. She is a recipient of several Lila Wallace/Reader''s Digest Incentive Grants, for performance and research. She is a member of the NATS, NJ, NYC and National chapters. Also, a composer of jazz, folk and children''s songs. Her voice teachers and coaches include Franco Rossi-Roudett, Terrence Shook, Helen Fenstermacher, Chloe Owens, Daniel Ferro, Marlena Malas, Dorothea Discala, Frank Valentino, Deborah Taylor, and Dolores Cassinelli. She has appeared in master classes with Elly Amelling, Jerome Hines, Judith Raskin, and Daltin Baldwin. Ms. Morehead holds a B.A. degree from Rutgers University, M.A. degree from Jersey City State College, and pursued studies at the Academy of Vocal Arts, in Philadelphia, and New York University.

She has worked as voice teacher, chorus director and Orff specialist at the Newark School of the Arts for over 24 years. As well as has taught several years in the Passaic School district as music specialist.

1. Ich und Du
Wir träumten von einander Und sind davon erwacht, Wir leben, um uns zu lieben, Und sinken zurück in die Nacht. Du kamst aus meinem Traume, Aus deinem trat ich hervor Wir sterben, wenn sich eines im andern ganz verlor. Auf einer Lilie zittern Zwei Tropfen, rein und rund, Zerfließen in eins und rollen Hinab in des Kelches Grund.

1. I and you
We dreamed of each other and it awakened us; we live to love each other and drop back into the night. You stepped from my dream and I stepped from yours. We will die when one of us has become entirely lost in the other''s. On a lily vibrate, two drops, pure and round; they melt into one and roll down into the bottom of the https://www.tradebit.comxt by Friedrich Hebbel (1813-1863) Translation to English by Emily Ezust I

2. Bestimmung
Was ist in deiner Seele,was ist in meiner Brust, das ich mich der befehle,das du mich lieben must?
Vom Haus, wo ich gewohnt un zart be hutet bin, ziehst du mich,wie der Mond nachtwandelnd,zu dir hin.
2. Determination
What is this force that touches me so. Is it a feeling of love in my breast? From my house, where I once was loved and comfortable, I am drawn to you like a wanderer through the night like the Moon draws the waves of the sea. German text by Ricarda Octavia Huch (1864-1947)

3. Gewisheit
So ganz bin ich erfullt von Tageswonne,Mir ist den Mondes silbern sanfter Gleis nur selige Gewahr,das in verhulltem Raum fort leuchte die versunkne https://www.tradebit.com unsichtbarem Tage ist er https://www.tradebit.comisheit neuen Morgens leuchtet er.

3. Knowing
I am so filled with daily bliss, I am the silver moon in its gentle track in a blissful awareness that continues to shine in the veiled room filled with the light of the sinking Sun. The invisible day is coming and I know that the new morning will soon light.. Text by Ernst Lissauer

4. Der Tag klingt ab
Der Tag klingt ab, es gilbt ich Gluck und Licht, Mittag ist https://www.tradebit.com lange noch?Dann kommen Mond und Sterne und Wind und https://www.tradebit.com saum'' ich langer nicht, Der Frucht gleich die ein Hauch von Baume bricht.

4. The Day Fades Away
The day fades away, with it , happiness and it’s light is for how long? Then there are moon and stars and wind and rain and it seems not long ago, the fruit should break as we touch the https://www.tradebit.comxt by Friedrich Nietzsche

5. Kleine schӧne, Kǖsse mich
Kleine schöne,küsse mich,Kleine schöne,schämst du dich? Küsse geben, küsse nehmen, Darf dich jetzt noch nicht beschämen:O wie schmackhaft küsset sie?Kleiner Engel schon so früh! Küsse mich noch hundertmal,Küss'' und merk'' der Küsse Zahl:Ich will dir bei meinem Leben Alle zehnfach wieder geben,Wenn der Kuß kein Scherz mehr ist Und du zehn Jahr älter bist.

6. Lovely little one, kiss me
Lovely little one, kiss me. Lovely little one, are you ashamed? To give kisses, to take kisses Do not let yourself be ashamed.O, how deliciously she kisses, the little angel, still so young! Kiss me a hundred times more, and mark the number of https://www.tradebit.com my life I promise I will give them all back tenfold, When the kiss is no longer a joke. And you are ten years olderText by Gotthold Ephraim Lessing (Translation by Barbara Van Savage

File Data

This file is sold by music, an independent seller on Tradebit.

Our Reviews
© Tradebit 2004-2020
All files are property of their respective owners
Questions about this file? Contact music
DMCA/Copyright or marketplace issues? Contact Tradebit