Sold by music on Tradebit
The world's largest download marketplace
3,033,164 satisfied buyers
Shopper Award

MP3 New York Philomusica Chamber Ensemble - The Wind Serenades of Mozart plus Cosi fan tutte & The Marriage of Figaro

Wind music flourished in the 18th Century, and no greater master of it can be found than here, with exuberant and sonically splendid performances by some of the best players ever to set heart and lip to the genre.

34 MP3 Songs
CLASSICAL: Mozart, CLASSICAL: Chamber Music

Show all album songs: The Wind Serenades of Mozart plus Cosi fan tutte & The Marriage of Figaro Songs

The Wind Serenades of Mozart,
Plus Cosi fan tutte and The Marriage of Figaro

"It is sublime...it is hard to imagine a better set of performances with better sonics."
-American Record Guide, 1991

The wind octet consisting of pairs of oboes, clarinets, horns, and bassoons was one of the most popular instrumental combinations of the Classic and early Romantic eras. It had a special name—Harmoniemusik—which only later became used as a general term for any combination of wind instruments. The three original works by Mozart recorded here are without question among the finest (and most serious) works ever conceived for the
Arrangements of operas, such as these by Giovanni Went (Johann Nepomuk Wendt), were commonly made in the late 18th and early 19th centuries, primarily as courtly entertainment. In a performance like this, the specific dramatic situation of each aria seems insignificant. Meant as entertaining background music, these excerpts should be
joyously familiar to many listeners.
© 2002 Robert Levin

Track List:

Serenade No. 10 in B-flat, K. 361/370a for 12 winds & contrabass
1. Largo—Molto allegro
2. Menuetto; Trio 1/Trio 2
3. Adagio
4. Menuetto: Allegretto; Trio 1/Trio 2
5. Romance: Adagio; Allegretto; Adagio
6. Tema con variazione: Andante (I - VI)
7. Finale: Molto allegro

The Marriage of Figaro for eight winds & contrabass
8. Overtura
9. Introduzione
10. Se a caso madama
11. Se vuol ballare, signor Contino
12. Non più andrai, farfallone amoroso
13. Porgi, amor
14. Crudel! perchè finora
15. Sull’aria. Che soave zefiretto
16. Ecco la marcia, andiamo!

Total playing time 73:40


Così fan tutte for eight winds & contrabass
1. Overtura
2. Ah guarda, sorella
3. Sento, o Dio!
4. Bella vita militar!
5. Un’ aura amorosa
6. Una donna a quindici anni
7. Prenderò quel brunettino
8. Il core vi dono
9. Fortunato I’uom

Serenade No. 11 in E-flat
K. 375 for eight winds
10. Allegro maestoso
11. Menuetto/Trio
12. Adagio
13. Menuetto/Trio
14. Allegro

Serenade No. 12 in C minor
K. 388/384a, for eight winds
15. Allegro
16. Andante
17. Menuetto in canone/Trio in canone al rovescio
18. Allegro

Total playing time: 73:37

Recorded in 1979

New York Philomusica Records

Manufactured by:
New York Philomusica Records,
105 West 73rd Street
New York, NY 10023

A. Robert Johnson, Executive Producer
An Elite Recordings NYC Production:
producing - engineering Marc Aubort, Joanna Nickrenz

Cover Design: Morton Millen
File Data

This file is sold by music, an independent seller on Tradebit.

Our Reviews
© Tradebit 2004-2021
All files are property of their respective owners
Questions about this file? Contact music
DMCA/Copyright or marketplace issues? Contact Tradebit