download process

Evil and Silence - Richard Fleming

Not Available

This file is no longer available on Tradebit.

Pay for Evil and Silence - Richard Fleming
2.275 MB File

Inspired by Ludwig Wittgenstein and Stanley Cavell, this book is a profoundly original philosophical work put together as a network of quotations, to show that our language is never our own and that ethics can be understood as an effect of our attitude to language. It is a meditation on justice and addresses the question of how to lead a non-violent life and acknowledge the humanity of others following 9/11 and extending right up to the current https://www.tradebit.comng extensive interdisciplinary sources, "Evil and Silence" investigates the nature of evil and the ways to make a life worth living in the face of such a fact of existence. It argues that we must reject the choice of violence as a justified way of life and embrace the creative efforts of nonviolence. The text begins with Socrates argument that it is never just to harm another and ends with Cage s exploration of silence as all the sounds we don t intend. Drawing on his past work in philosophy of language and music, Fleming develops arguments for the logic of nonviolence and the value of silence. He demonstrates that living consistently by way of silence and meaningful sound, understanding the music and language of our lives, is a justified response to the truth and miseries of https://www.tradebit.comks to Musical Illustrations and Scores Mentioned in the TextMozart's "Symphony 40," Beethoven's "Symphony 6," and Ives' "The Unanswered Question" http: // "Symphony 40"Beethoven's "Symphony 6"First page of Wagner's "Tristan und Isolde" http: // page of Wagner's "Parsifal" http: // and second pages of Debussy's "Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun" http: // original manuscript page from Schoenberg's Opus 23, "Five Piano Pieces" http: // central tone-row from Berg's "Violin Concerto" (section B) and the last page of "Wozzeck" http: // page of Mahler's "Symphony 9" http: //https://www.tradebit.como/files/imglnks/usimg/5/5d/IMSLP21194-PMLP48640-Symphony_No._9_-_IV.pdfFirst page of Stravinsky's "Petrushka" http: // from Bernstein's "Mass" http: // from Tchaikovsky's "Symphony 6" http: // "4'33''" manuscript page and precursor materials: http: // "

Author: Fleming, Richard
Publisher: Routledge
Illustration: Y
Language: ENG
Title: Evil and Silence
Pages: 00157 (Unencrypted EPUB)
On Sale: 2015-12-14
SKU-13/ISBN: 9781594517280
Category: Social Science : Sociology - General

(ID 278888734)

File Data:

Contact Seller:
ebook-reader, US, Member since 09/08/2010


Create JavaScript Mobile Tag Widgets for your homepage

More Files From This User

Related Files

Tradebit Reviews

Tradebit is the worlds largest marketplace for digital files, with over 2.5 million satisfied customers and millions of digital products. Online for over 12 years, Tradebit is the best place to find files like music, video tutorials, repair manuals, and more. If you're curious about how much our users love Tradebit, read reviews from real buyers!