Sold by music on Tradebit
The world's largest download marketplace
3,088,449 satisfied buyers
Shopper Award

MP3 JC SPED - Affect

Lo-Fi Folk-Punk recorded with low grade depression, layers of distortion, startling lyrics and sad, catchy melodies.

17 MP3 Songs in this album (65:50) !
Related styles: ROCK: Lo-Fi, METAL/PUNK: Post-Punk

People who are interested in Trio The Fall Sentridoh should consider this download.

JC SPED was a 4-Track solo project developed by Jason Camlot in San Francisco in the 1990s amidst a thriving Mission District and South of Market post-punk scene that included great short-lived bands like Hickey and The Tuning Knives (a band founded by Robert McNeill, now of the Country Teasers).

Camlot played drums for The Tuning Knives, but privately recorded some 50 songs in various SF and Montreal apartments over a period of 5 years, using a FOSTEX 250 4-Track cassette recorder, makeshift gear, Casio keyboards, broken bass guitars, a suped-up Fender Jaguar, soundscape noise collected with a portable micro-recorder, and lots of home made distortion pedals.

The results were three coterie distributed cassette tapes titled, in order:



Hope Toy

The present offering is a compilation of selected tunes from the three original JC SPED tapes. Many of the tunes on these original 4-Track tapes were later released on one of the two studio-recorded solo folk records made by Camlot in the mid-1990s—O Glee (which will be re-issued by Urban Myth Records this year as a digital product available on itunes) and Mr. Fedora. Some of the lyrics to these songs have been published in Camlot''s poetry books, The Animal Library (DC Books, 2001) and Attention All Typewriters (DC Books, 2005), both available for purchase at https://www.tradebit.com and elsewhere.

JC SPED was a largely private and purely analogue endeavor. JC SPED is about tape, and the recordings should be listened to with audio cassette sympathy. All hiss, pops, clicks and static are intentional. For the love of tape, these songs are not available on compact disc. Already, the conversion of these songs into digital files represents a kind of affront to their inscape. But everything must be made public in the post-analogue world, and at the present time, going public and becoming digitized are practically the same thing.

See https://www.tradebit.com for images of the original JC SPED tape covers:

Some details surrounding the recording of the original tapes run as follows:

JC "sped"

1. ''intro'' (a sped up sample of the trumpet fanfare and announcement that is heard at the start of the 30+ cassette Olive Branch book on tape version of the new testament as read by Gregory Peck)
2. Magnetism (a song based on a short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald)
3. ''carmi sped'' (a sped up clip from home recording of Carmi, a song written by Matthew Rosenberg, drummer for Puggy Hammer)
4. Unknown Leonard Cohen (the original version of the tune released on Jason Camlot''s first solo record, O Glee, the lyrics of which are published in Jason Camlot''s second poetry collection, Attention All Typewriters (DC Books, 2005). The slide guitar riff in this 4-Track version is played with an HB pencil
5. Scarborough Fair* (a very depressing and disturbing version of this traditional song, sung with the lyrics truncated, the vocal compressed and distorted, and accompanied by layers of Casio keyboard and drum machines played forwards and backwards)
6. Hello (the original recording of the song later released on O Glee).
7. Haggis (a little angry punk ditty that sums up the sped lo-fi sound of the first "sped" tape)
8. Me, I am (a tune later recorded in professional studio with full band and released by Jason Camlot on a four song EP)
9. Blow Me Away (a 7 minute long call for help with samples of San Francisco phone dating monologues by various horny SF women. An alarm bell rings through the song)
10. Orange (a spoken sound poem)
11. The Energy King (spoken recording of poem, revised version of which would be published in the book Attention All Typewriters)

1. ''distance sped'' (a sped version of original composition tape of the song "Distance Kills", released on Jason Camlot''s second solo record, Mr. Fedora)
2. Charlotte Gainsbourg (original version of a song later recorded in studio, about Serge and his daughter Charlotte, and existential alienation)
3. Go & Die (the title is self explanatory, studio version later released on Mr. Fedora)
4. ''ooo where are you sped'' (sped up fragment from an unfinished song on a composition tape)
5. Anger''s Chamber (first version of a song that would be revamped musically, recorded professionally and released on O Glee. The lyrics to this song also appear in the book Attention All Typewriters)
6. Distance Kills (studio version of this released on Mr. Fedora)
7. Stars Down to Earth (a song about fate, with samples of Robert Bly''s self-help cassette The Power of Shame, and Diamanda Galás'' version of "Swing Low" making appearances at the beginning and end)
8. Carmi** (written and recorded with Matthew Rosenberg who plays piano for this recording)
9. Radiant (4-track recording of the song later released on Mr. Fedora)

The original notes that appeared on the back cover of "sped" are:

All songs written and performed by JC but
*Written by P. Simon and A. Garfunkel.
** Written and performed by Matthew Rosenberg with JC.
Recorded on a Fostex 250 at 2255 Mason Street, San Francisco,
March 20th-28th 1994. Mixed down at 136 Albion Street
in one sitting on May 26 1994.
All songs recorded in one take with the windows partially open.
Instruments provided by Robert McNeill:
1 Electric Guitar, 1 Electric Bass,
1 Casiotone MT-45, 1 MXR Distortion Pedal.
Voice Samples, all used without permission:
Olive Branch presents Gregory Peck reading
The Bible, The New Testament. Blow Me Away--voices of
S.F. women from Bay Area Telepersonals.
Stars Down to Earth--Robert Bly from The Power of Shame,
Diamanda Galas singing "Swing Low Sweet Chariot".

From the tape cover of:

HOKE (The Natural Rhythm of Life) by JC Sped

1. Saturday Man
2. Don’t you want me, Clay?
3. Fill in After the Word
4. Declensions
5. Ariadne
6. Private D.I.C.K. Watches
7. New Year’s Occasion
8. Sally
9. Scholar-Gipsy-Banker
10. The Hoke Poke
11. The Return

The 4-Track Rules.
Casio Keyboard, Shitty STP Bass,
Distortion, Electric Guitar With Whammy Bar,
One Tuning Knives Cymbal, One Big Soup Pot.
Thanks Robert, and may you swallow Texas whole.
Screams on “Clay” by Lisa and Nicole.
Look for “Private D.I.C.K Watches” in your local drugstore.
“The Hoke Poke” is about the inner mind of Peter Puck.

--jc sped

Song List from the original JC SPED cassette, Hope Toy:

1. Hope Toy Overture (instrumental)
2. Frontier Thesis (later published as a poem in the book Attention All Typewriters)
3. Green Floss Caravan (re-recorded in studio for future release as an Urban Myth Records title)
4. Language Monster (lyrics published in Attention All Typewriters and re-recorded in studio for future release as an Urban Myth Records title)
5. Black Snake (re-recorded in studio for future release as an Urban Myth Records title)
6. Dream Kit
7. Chambers
8. Green Radiator
9. Hope Toy
10. Like Toy Rubies (originally the music for a modern dance choreography entitled "Orchids" performed at the Montreal Fringe Festival in the mid 1990s. Lots of tape cut up in this 9 minute instrumental piece.)

File Data

This file is sold by music, an independent seller on Tradebit.

Our Reviews
© Tradebit 2004-2021
All files are property of their respective owners
Questions about this file? Contact music
DMCA/Copyright or marketplace issues? Contact Tradebit