Sold by music on Tradebit
The world's largest download marketplace
2,925,822 satisfied buyers
Shopper Award

MP3 Various Artists - That's How I Feel!

Indie Artists Celebrate 10 Years of Stereorrific Recordings

17 MP3 Songs in this album (50:39) !
Related styles: POP: Pop Underground, ROCK: Garage Rock

People who are interested in Miss Mary should consider this download.

Ten years ago, garage-popsters The Oscillators self-released their self-recorded debut, Let''s Rock Instead!, taking advantage of the emerging distribution and promotion opportunities of "the Internet." The album became a minor college radio hit, and sales started coming in online from all over, including Europe and Japan. Oscillators'' leader Joel Mellin and his brother, the artist/musician Jeff Mellin, decided to harness that momentum to help out friends and other like minded artists. And so, with the additional help of their pal producer/musician Pete Weiss, Stereorrific Recordings was born.

"We never saw the label so much as a company, but as a collaborative of artists with a shared sensibility," says co-founder and artist Jeff Mellin. "The idea was to pool resources and to associate the friends and fans of each group with the other groups. We wanted to connect the dots and come up with something more than the sum of it''s parts."

Since then, Stereorrific has released and co-released a decade''s worth of albums, 45s and even books by artists ranging from instrumental heroes the Weisstronauts to twee-garage chanteuse Miss Mary to mangled and angular guitars wranglers Rectangle to art-popstress Orange Nichole. And they continue to expand their Stereorrific ideas into other projects, including partnerships with UK label Where It''s At Is Where You Are and Oakland-based Kolourmeim Press, an experimental imprint called Musique Impossible, an online music licensing site called FlickTracks, and helping to start Waxfruit Arts Media, a 5013(c) non-profit connecting the public to the creative community.

The influence of Stereorrific has been felt far and wide. Now, for it''s 10th Anniversary, indie artists from the UK, Netherlands, Brazil and the USA have come together to celebrate some of their favorite Stereorrific songs.

"We''re honored to have so many great artists involved," says Mellin, "and we''re touched by the quality and creativity that everyone put into their tracks. It''s made the whole ten years worthwhile."

"Side One"

1 MJ Hibbett (UK) - Saddle Up (originally by the Weisstronauts)

2 The Waistcoats (ND) - Joan''s GoGo Club (originally by The Oscillators)

3 Slide (USA) - (You''ve Got The) Weight of the World (On Your Shoulders) (originally by Jeff Mellin)

4 Astropop3 (USA) - The One (originally by Miss Mary)

5 Joel Mellin (USA) - Waiver from Procyon (originally by Rectangle)

6 The Cut-outs (UK) - Can''t Stop (originally by Miss Mary)

7 Eddie Japan (USA) - Rubber Skeleton Part One (Orange Nichole)

8 Lunettes (Brazil) - Gimme Gimme (originally by the Oscillators)

9 Death by Chocolate (UK) - Last Straw (originally by Jeff Mellin)

"Side Two"

10 Santa Marias (USA) - The Rain (originally by Miss Mary)

11 Mercy James Gang (USA) - Sool on 45 (originally by Sool)

12 Superdrive (Brazil) - You Sweet You (originally by Jeff Mellin)

13 Weisstronauts (USA) - That''s How I Feel (originally by Miss Mary)

14 Lovewhip (USA) - We''ll Go Driving (orginally by the Oscillators)

15 Sool (USA) - Beer (originally by Rectangle)

16 Ray Mason (USA) - David White (originally by Orange Nichole)

17 Jeff Mellin (USA) - Space Perspective (originally by Rectangle)

File Data

This file is sold by music, an independent seller on Tradebit.

Our Reviews
© Tradebit 2004-2020
All files are property of their respective owners
Questions about this file? Contact music
DMCA/Copyright or marketplace issues? Contact Tradebit