Sold by music on Tradebit
The world's largest download marketplace
3,256,977 satisfied buyers
Shopper Award

MP3 Robert Urban - who i was

Heavy Progressive Art Rock

9 MP3 Songs
ROCK: Progressive Rock, ROCK: Modern Rock

Released in the Summer of 1999, "who i was" is an ultra-retro romp of nine big artsy over-the-top rocking songs. Stylistically opposite from "godless", "who i was"
revels in high, soaring, harmony-laden vocals, searing electric guitar and synth solos, huge drumming, and classic progressive rock production. Lofty, idealistic
lyrics are reminiscent of rock''s early FM, non-commercial days.

Chronicling a series of recording sessions that took place over the years to capture Robert''s most ambitious rock creations, "who i was" also features the talents of synth wizard Keith Daniell, wunderkind drummer Joey Readon and
virtuoso sound engineer Peter Hodgson.

Part retrospective, part anthology-it is, more than anything else,the sound of kindred spirits having a whole lotta fun in the studio.

EVERYONE WANTS THE FIRE(4:41)-a joyous release of much pent-up anger and frustration. In retrospect, also a heartfelt anthem to personal & artistic freedom. I was, at the time, furious with my do-nothing mangement, and was seeking a
way out of my contract. I persuaded them to come to one of my live shows and publicly dedicated the song to them from the stage. I''ll never forget the look on their faces afterwards. Mission accomplished. We parted ways shortly thereafter. Originally called THE MANAGEMENT SONG. Built from Keith''s own catchy synth-hooks. And whose speaking voice is that over the 2nd intro?

ADVENTURES (6:30) -A coming out song wherein the personal process is viewed as some kind of heroic (if not homeric)quest. Also based on Keith''s original synth patterns.
That''s Joey sharing the lead vocals with me.

I''LL LET YOU KNOW(5:34)-A celebration of fatalism-a love/death paean to individualism-and a dream of self-destruction. Bassist Steve Sullivan showed up one day at rehearsal playing the basic riff - we jammed on it - and that night I wrote the song. That''s Keith on the central keyboard solo. This is the original recording of this song. A later and entirely different recording of it also appears on my 1996 "godless" CD.

THE DANCE OF SHIVA(4:04)-Percussionist Marty Quinn had shown me a method of composing music based on what I call "canonic rhythms". It creates a kind of "eternal recurrance" of motion - very sequencer-like - so I conjured up a vision of an exotic temple-dancer''s endlessly intriguing movements-as with the legendary dance of Shiva.

WAITING FOR ROME TO FALL(5:04)-My take on the way of the world. Thermonuclear detonation courtesy of Peter Hodgson.

THE TIME OF OUR LIVES(3:43)Click here to hear-A song to mark the loss of innocence...and the passing of youth. Not just for myself...not just for my own generation, but for all of human history as well. Lone live cymbal crash courtesy of Peter Hodgson.

NIGHT IN KAMPALA(and what transpired there...)(6:07)-Having gotten my hands on a vintage mini-moog and an old Roland 707 drum machine, I laid down some tribal patterns-then Keith and I just went nuts with synth and guitar overdubs.
Mocking-Bird, thunderstorm, wildcat, monkeys, whales and woodpecker courtesy of Peter Hodgson.

I CLOSE MY EYES(5:35)-A cynical song about rock-stardom and/or the "me generation". Also the only surviving cut from my first solo recording project. Those early vocals still make me cringe-but hey, it''s who I was. What really makes the tune are the great live performances by drummer Marty Quinn and bassist Richard Musk.

I DON''T CARE(7:21)-Another coming out song? Perhaps a "coming of age" song - Nietzchean in spirit and Wagnerian in size. Again, the irrepressible seventeen year
old Joey contributes mightily to the vocals.


Singer, composer and multi-instrumentalist Robert Urban was born & raised in Fairfield County, CT. He received a B.S. degree in Philosophy and Music from the University of Bridgeport, CT.

Moving to Manhattan, Robert began composing scores for an array of professional music, dance, theater and film productions. Also a session guitarist, vocalist & producer, he has contributed to the projects of many other musical artists and theatrical organizations.

Recently, Robert composed the music score for the internationally released film-documentary "Ticket to Freedom: Woodstock", which also featured original songs by Richie Havens. Music from his "godless" album is featured in the indie art film "Paradise Attempted" produced Resolute Pictures, Inc., released in early 2000. The film also includes music by new-age artist Enya. Most recently, Robert composed the instrumental musical score to the new Todd Russell/Alex Dove horror films "Dead Guys" (2002) and "Das Hause" (2003).

Robert owns & operates his own independent music production facility URBAN PRODUCTIONS, where he records both his and other artists? music. His work and a video of one of his songs was recently featured on Manhattan Cable Channel.

There are four Robert Urban CDs available - the 1997 critically acclaimed "godless"; the award-winning 2000 Elegies; the 1980s retrospective who i was (also released in 2000); and the new 2003 Rock Widow. Robert performs everywhere, including various outdoor music & glbt pride festivals, with his own progressive art-rock group - The Robert Urban Band.

Recent Career & Performance Highlights

- "URBAN PRODUCTIONS BOLDLY PRESENTS" - self-produced, ongoing concert series featuring new & established musical artists from all over the U.S.(hosted by Robert Urban)

- Winner - Winner StoneWall Society 2002 "Pride Song of the Year" Award for DON''T ASK, DON''T TELL from the ROCK WIDOW cd. StoneWall Society 2002 "Pride Song of the Year" Award for THE WAITING SONG from the ELEGIES CD.

- Listed as one of ten IMPORTANT VOICES IN MODERN ROCK -Vol. 2, No. 3, March 2001 - THE PROGRESS REPORT

- Winner of Two 2001 OUTMUSIC OMA AWARDS
1. Outstanding Live Performer of the Year
2. Outstanding Recording ("Elegies")

- Nominee - 2001 NY Regional INDEPENDENT MUSIC AWARD presented by The MUSIC RESOURCE GROUP organization and sponsored by THE MUSICIAN''S ATLAS

- National Tour (including performances in Atlanta, New York City, Chicago, Boston and Philadelphia) (1996 thru 2000)

- U.S. Pride Festivals - NYC Pride Festival (2001), Brooklyn Pride Festival (2003) Connecticut Pride Festival (2001 & 2002), Atlanta Pride Festival (2000), Virginia Pride Festival (1998)

- LADYFEST 2002 NYC Festival

- listed in "Award Winning Men" 2002 book.

For more information visit:

File Data

This file is sold by music, an independent seller on Tradebit.

Our Reviews
© Tradebit 2004-2024
All files are property of their respective owners
Questions about this file? Contact music
DMCA/Copyright or marketplace issues? Contact Tradebit